Political Science

Department of Political Science Welcomes You

The Department of Political Science was started in the year 1967 as per syllabus prescribed by the Karnatak University, Dharwad. Shri.V.C. Hullur was the lone member of the faculty at the time. In 1968 Shri. Hullur left the department to join Karnataka Administrative Service. In his place Prof. M.I. Kuntoji was appointed in the year 1971-72. Political Science as a major subject was introduced. With his workload increased necessitating appointment of one more full time lecturer Prof. L. H. Kalmath joined the department on 04/08/1972. On 30/04/1995 Prof. M.I. Kuntoji was retired from the service. Prof. L.H. Kalmath was made HOD. He was lone member of the faculty till the appointment of Prof. R.S. Kakkasageri in the year 14/08/1996.

In the year 1991 the Karnatak University, Dharwad changed its curriculum pattern and introduced three subjects of equal importance in place of major and minor, accordingly Political Science became optional subject with the workload of 20 hours per week.


political science department vmsrv college hungund

At present our college is affiliated to Rani Channamma University, Belagavi. Prof. L.H.Kalmath, head of the department took the charge of Principal on 01/01/2006. During this period Dr. Parashuram. C. Hadimani worked as a lecturer in the department until 13/08/2007.

Prof. L.H.Kalmath got retirement on 31/12/2010. In his place Prof.S.B. Ghantimath had been appointed on 01/08/2011and left the department on 25/07/2015. In his place Prof, B.H.Godi has been appointed on 01/08/2015.

Prof. R.S.Kakkasageri has written the books on Indian Constitution for BA first Semester and Human Rights for Second Semester students. And he also left his service.

Dr. Parashuram C. has been appointed as an Assistant Professor on 03/09/2019 and working as a head of the department.


The Department of Political Science seeks to provide students with a learning experience that will equal them to face the challenges of an increasing complex job market and prepare them to become active and engaged citizens at Regional, National & International level with civic sense.


  • Imparting outcome based education.
  • Making students accomplished with knowledge in the field of Political science at UG level.
Sl. No.
Name of the faculty
Dr. Parashuram C.
M.A., B.Ed., Ph.D., K-SET.
Asst. Professor & HOD
Mr. B. H. Godi
M.A., B.Ed.,
  • V. C. Hullur
  • M. I. Kuntoji
  • L. H. Kalmath
  • R. S. Kakkasageri
  • Parashuram C.
  • Understand the basic concept of political science.
  • Inculcate the basic principle of Indian Constitution
  • Understand the application of Human Rights in practice.
  • Primary knowledge of Public Administration.
  • Analyze the political behavior of voters.
Strengthen the understanding and appreciation of the rights and privileges granted by the Indian Constitution. Everyone should be aware of the political processes and the actual functioning of the political system.

BA I – Political Theory

This course aims to introduce certain key aspects of conceptual analysis in political theory.

BA II – Eastern and Western Political Theories.

To understand the political thinkers & their political ideas & thoughts.

BA III – Indian Government and Politics.

To make the students aware on different issues that exists in Indian Government and Politics.

BA IV – Karnataka Government and Politics

Understand Karnataka Government & Politics. Confiscation of the Karnataka & Legislate & Judiciary system.

BA V – Paper I: Public Administration

To understand Public Administration, Appointment, Training, Retirement organization, etc.

BA V – Paper II: Indian Administration

To understand Indian Administration (Central & State Relations)

BA VI Paper I: International Relationship

To understand the SAARC, NATA, SAT, G20, WTO, UNO, Foreign Policy, etc.

BA VI Paper II: Political Process and Institution in India

To understand parliamentary system, democracy, federal system, Indian party system, election, coalition politics.

Indian Journal of Society and Politics: https://www.ijsp.in

The Indian journal of political science: https://www.jstor.org/journal/indijpoliscie

Sl No


Departmental Activities



Voting Awareness Program



National Voters’ Day



National e- Quiz Computation



Constitution Day



National Voters’ Day



Special Guest Lecture on Fundamental Rights

Dr. Parashuram C.

Head & Asst. Professor,

Department of Political Science,

V.M.K. S.R.Vastrad Arts, Science &

V.S.Bellihal Commerce College,

Hungund – 587118.

Email ID: vmksrvpol.sci.dept@gmail.com

Mob. No.: +919741618253

Scroll to Top